Entwistle School
(K–9)

Bell Schedule

School Office Hours: 8am - 4pm

School Main Phone Number: 1-780-727-3811

Time

Event

8:25am Doors Open; Opening Bell
8:32am Attendance
8:34am O Canada
8:36-9:09am Period 1
9:09-9:42am Period 2
9:42-10:15am Period 3
10:15-10:48am Period 4
10:48-11:04am Morning Recess
11:04-11:37am Period 5
11:37am-12:10pm Period 6
12:10-12:25pm Lunch
12:25-12:57pm Lunch Recess
12:57-1:30pm Period 7
1:30-2:03pm Period 8
2:03-2:19pm Afternoon Recess
2:19-2:52pm Period 9
2:50pm Early Bus Bell
2:52-3:25pm Period 10
3:25pm Dismissal Bell
4pm Office Closes

Modified School Days & Friday Schedule

Entwistle School's daily schedule runs slightly longer than average. To compensate, Modified School Days (on which no school is held) are included in our school year. In addition, Fridays throughout the school year follow the same class schedule as another day of the week on a rotational basis. Please see below for affected days specific to this school year.

2017-2018 Modified School Days (No School)

  • September 29
  • October 20
  • November 24
  • December 8
  • January 26
  • February 16
  • March 9
  • April 20
  • May 25
  • June 8

2017-2018 Friday Schedules

  • September 8 - Monday Schedule
  • September 15 - Tuesday Schedule
  • September 22 - Wednesday Schedule
  • October 13 - Monday Schedule
  • October 27 - Monday Schedule
  • November 3 - Thursday Schedule
  • November 17 - Thursday Schedule
  • December 1 - Monday Schedule
  • December 15 - Wednesday Schedule
  • December 22 - Monday Schedule
  • January 12 - Monday Schedule
  • January 19 - Thursday Schedule
  • February 2 - Tuesday Schedule
  • February 23 - Thursday Schedule
  • March 16 - Thursday Schedule
  • April 6 - Tuesday Schedule
  • April 13 - Wednesday Schedule
  • April 27 - Monday Schedule
  • May 4 - Monday Schedule
  • May 11 - Monday Schedule
  • June 1 - Tuesday Schedule
  • June 15 - Tuesday Schedule
  • June 22 - Wednesday Schedule

 

About Our Schedule

Our Entwistle class blocks are 33 minutes in length. We have morning, lunch, and an afternoon recess. Students in junior high are permitted to leave school property at the start of lunch recess (12:25) if signed consent has been turned into the office. Students who live in town may go home at the start of lunch (12:10) if signed consent has been turned into the office. Leaving school during the school day is a privilege, and not a right. School administration has the right to remove and/or suspend these privileges as required.  

Attendance is Important

Learning works best when all of our students are in class and on-time. Entwistle students are responsible to make sure that they are supervised at all times.

We know that sometimes students are delivered late to school. When this happens, please check in at the office and let us know you’re here. You should also know that for the purpose of attendance, three lates are equal to one day of missed school. Try your best to always be on time!

If a student’s attendance drops below 85% (if they miss too many days) school administration will discuss the student’s attendance with the child’s parents and try to solve the problem.

If together we cannot solve the problem, we will access Parkland School Division’s attendance officer to set up a meeting with school administration, the student, and the student’s parents. Students are legally required to be at school, and if you they are missing too much school, the Alberta Government steps in to solve the problem.

Sometimes parents may pull students out of school for a vacation that happens during school days. Parents are asked to please discuss the absence with the homeroom teacher or Mr. Worthington ahead of time and to notify Mrs. Bentancor.


For more information contact:
Entwistle School 
Phone: 1-780-727-3811
Email: Entwistle@psd70.ab.ca